You are here

Determination of the Effective Electron (anti)-neutrino Mass


Staff ECT*
Monday, 10 February, 2020 - 09:30 to Friday, 14 February, 2020 - 14:30

Determining the absolute neutrino mass scale would answer one of the most important questions in Physics. The KATRIN experiment, designed for the direct determination of the effective electron anti-neutrino mass, has recently released a new limit. New H-3 based experiments as Project8, PTOLEMY and Ho-163 based experiments ECHo and HOLMES are completing the R&D phase with publications of new data. The availability of high precision H-3 and Ho-163 spectra will offer the possibility to also search for signatures which could be attributed to beyond the Standard Model theories.

The objectives of this workshop are to offer a unique platform for theorists to discuss details of experiments, which are typically not emphasized, in order to gain a deeper understanding of released data and to provide indications to experimentalists on how experiments could be shaped for new searches. Our goal is to better exploit the potential of present and future experiments.

Registration period: 
10 Dec 2019 to 23 Jan 2020
Eventbrite registration: 


Loredana Gastaldo Universität Heidelberg
Kathrin Valerius Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie


Last nameFirst nameInstitutionCountry of Institution
BarthArnulfKirchhoff Institute for Physics - Heidelberg UniversityGermany
BensoCristinaMax Planck Institute for Nuclear PhysicsGermany
BlasoneMassimoUniversità di SalernoItaly
BlockFabianKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyGermany
BorghesiMatteoUniversità di Milano BicoccaItaly
BraßMartinUniversität HeidelbergGermany
ClaessensChristineJGU MainzGermany
DrexlinGuidoKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyGermany
DüllmannChristophJGU MainzGermany
FerrariCeciliaUniversità degli studi di Milano-BicoccaItaly
FormaggioJosephMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyUSA
GastaldoLoredanaHeidelberg University, Kirchhoff Institute for PhysicsGermany
GöggelmannAlexanderUniversity of TübibingenGermany
HaverkortMaurits W.Institut für Theoretische Physik der Universität HeidelbergGermany
JochumJosefEberhard Karls Universitaet TuebingenGermany
KneipNinaJohannes Gutenberg University MainzGermany
LindmanAlecJGU MainzGermany
MantegazziniFedericaKirchhoff Institute for Physics - Heidelberg UniversityGermany
MerstorfMarcInstitute for Theoretical PhysicsGermany
NucciottiAngeloUniversità e INFN di Milano-BicoccaItalia
PalazzoAntonioUniversity of BariItaly
RodejohannWernerMPIK, HeidelbergDeutschland
RodenbeckCarolineInstitut für Kernphysik, WWU MünsterDeutschland
RoelligMarcoKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyGermany
SaenzAlejandroHumboldt-Universität zu BerlinGermany
SchlösserMagnusKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyGermany
SiegmannDanielMax-Plank Institut for Physics MunichGermany
SlezakMartinMax Planck Institute for PhysicsGermany
SuhonenJouniUniversity of JyväskyläFinland
ThuemmlerThomasKarlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)Germany
TullyChristopherPrinceton UniversityUSA
ValeriusKathrinKarlsruhe Institute of TechnologyGermany
WegnerMathiasKirchhoff Institute for PhysicsGermany
WeissTaliaMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyUnited States
WendtKlausUniversity of MainzGermany
YoshimuraMotohikoOkayama UniversityJapan