You are here

FRGIM - Functional and Renormalization-Group methods

Registration closed 27/08/2019.
Monday, 16 September, 2019 - 09:00 to Friday, 20 September, 2019 - 18:00

Since the seminal work by Wilson and Kadanoff the renormalization group has represented a revolutionary and universal conceptual paradigm. Starting from its early applications to the theory of phase transitions and critical phenomena, it has been by now adopted in a multitude of research areas, for its unifying power and practical convenience. On the other hand, the functional methods, pioneered by Schwinger, Feynman and Dyson, are nowadays considered a reference point and one of the common languages for the community of theoretical physicists. This international conference focuses on the latest scientific developments at the interface of functional and renormalization-group methods, and aims at favoring interdisciplinary discussions between communities interested in these two cornerstones of theoretical physics, both at the formal level and at the modern frontiers of their applications. The latter include for instance: the UV completion problem in particle physics and quantum gravity; nonperturbative gauge theories and nuclear physics; out of equilibrium and fluid effective dynamics; strongly correlated fermions in condensed matter; statistical mechanical models; active matter systems; cosmological evolution and astrophysics. The conference is part of a project sponsored by ACRI under the grant “Young Investigator Training Program 2018”, which is intended to foster young international researchers and to promote their scientific collaboration with a network of Italian research institutions.

Registration period: 
30 May 2019 to 26 Aug 2019


Alfio Bonanno Inaf Catania
Gian Paolo Vacca INFN Bologna
Luca Zambelli University of Jena
Roberto Percacci SISSA
Andrea Trombettoni CNR Trieste


Last nameFirst nameInstitutionCountry of Institution
AbelStevenDurham University IPPPUK
ASNAFISHIMASADATInstitute for Research in Fundamental SciencesIRAN
Ben Ali ZinatiRiccardoSISSA - International School for Advanced StudiesItaly
BonannoAlfioINAF - CataniaItaliy
CaravelliFrancescoLos Alamos National LaboratoryUnited States
ContrerasCarlosUniversidad Tecnica Federico Santa MariaCHILE
D'EliaMassimoUniversity of Pisa - Physics DepartmentITALY
DefenuNicoloHeidelberg universityGermany
DelamotteBertrandSorbonne UniversityFrance
Duarte Pereira JuniorAntonioUniversidade Federal FluminenseBrazil
DupuisNicolasSorbonne University & CNRSFrance
EllwangerUlrichLPT OrsayFrance
FerreroRenataUniversity of TrentoItaly
FloerchingerStefanInstitut für Theoretische Physik, Universität HeidelbergGermany
KhosraviAmirRadboud UniversityNederlands
Koch-JanuszMaciejETH ZurichSwitzerland
LitimDanielUniversity of SussexUK
MetznerWalterMax Planck Institute for Solid State ResearchGermany
MoreauGabrielUniversité Paris DiderotFrance
MorrisTimUniversity of SouthamptonU.K.
PaganiCarloInstitute of Physics (WA THEP), Johannes Gutenberg UniversitätGermany
PithisAndreasUniversity of HeidelbergGermany
RachwalLeslawCzech Technical UniversityCzech Republic
ReichertManuelCP3 Origins, University of Southern DenmarkDenmark
RossiLorenzoPolitecnico di TorinoItaly
SafariMahmoudInstitute For Research in Fundamental Sciences Iran
SondenheimerRenéGraz UniversityAustria
SteinwachsChristianUniversity of FreiburgGermany
StergiouAndreasLos Alamos National LaboratoryUSA
SteudtnerTomUniversity of SussexUnited Kingdom
ToneroAlbertoCarleton UniversityCanada
TripoltRalf-ArnoGoethe University FrankfurtGermany
UgolottiAlessandroFriedrich-Schiller-Universität, Physikalisch-Astronomischen FakultätGermany
VaccaGian PaoloINFNItaly
ZambelliLucaFriedrich-Schiller-Universität JenaGermany
ZanussoOmarUniversità di PisaItaly