You are here

Progress and Challenges in Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay

Registration closed 25/06/2019.


Ines Campo
+39 0461 314721
Monday, 15 July, 2019 - 08:30 to Friday, 19 July, 2019 - 14:00
ECT* meeting room

Neutrinoless double-beta decay is the most sensitive laboratory probe of lepton number violation, and its detection is being pursued by ambitious experimental programs. The observation of this decay will have far reaching consequences: demonstrate that neutrinos are Majorana fermions, shed light on the neutrino absolute masses and mass-generation mechanism, and give insight into leptogenesis scenarios key to understand the matterantimatter asymmetry in the universe. The interpretation of a positive or null measurement, however, relies on the identification of the lepton-number-violating mechanism driving the decay, and on having reliable nuclear matrix elements. This workshop will focus on recent advances in lattice QCD, chiral effective field theory, and many-body nuclear theory towards the determination of the relevant lepton-number-violating decay channel, with associated transition operators, and the controlled calculation of the corresponding nuclear matrix elements; in addition, we will discuss the challenges that remain to be faced.

Registration period: 
29 Apr 2019 to 24 Jun 2019


Emanuele Mereghetti Los Alamos National Laboratory
Javier Menendez Center for Nuclear Study - University of Tokyo
Amy Nicholson University of North Carolina
Saori Pastore Washington University
Andre Walker-Loud Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory


Last nameFirst nameInstitutionCountry of Institution
CiriglianoVincenzoLos Alamos National LaboratoryUnited States
CoraggioLuigiIstituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, Sezione di NapoliItaly
DavoudiZohrehUniversity of MarylandUSA
de VriesJordyUniversity of Massachusetts AmherstUSA
DekensWouteruniversity of california, san diegoUSA
DeppischFrankUniversity College LondonUnited Kingdom
DolinskiMichelleDrexel UniversityUnited States
EngelJonathanUniversity of North CarolinaUSA
EpelbaumEvgenyRuhr University BochumGermany
FangDongLiangInstitute of Modern Physics, Chinese Academy of sciencesChina
FengXuPeking UniversityChina
FrekersDieterInst. f. Nucl. and Part. Phys.Germany
GirlandaLucaUniversity of SalentoItaly
GrafLukasMax Planck Institute for Nuclear PhysicsGermany
HoroiMihaiCentral Michigan UniversityUSA
Magana VsevolodovnaRuslanINFN - Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare sezione di GenovaItaly
McElvainKennethUniversity of California at BerkeleyUSA
MenendezJavierThe University of TokyoJapan
mereghettiemanueleLos Alamos National LaboratoryUSA
Monge CamachoHenryUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel HillUnited States
MurphyDavidMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyUSA
NovarioSamuelUniversity of TennesseeUnited States of America
OtsukaTakaharuUniversity of Tokyo / RIKENJapan
pastoresaoriwashington university in st louisusa
piarullimariaWashington UniversityUS
SchindlerMatthiasUniversity of South CarolinaUSA
van KolckUbirajaraInstitut de Physique Nucleaire d'OrsayFrance
VogelPetrCalifornia Institute of TechnologyUnited States
VogelPetrCalifornia Institute of TechnologyUnited States
Walker-LoudAndreLawrence Berkeley National LaboratoryUnited States
WangXiaobaoHuzhou UniversityChina