You are here

Antiproton-nucleus interactions and related phenomena

Registration closed 28/05/2019.


Ines Campo
+39 0461 314721
Monday, 17 June, 2019 - 08:00 to Friday, 21 June, 2019 - 14:00
ECT* meeting room

Low energy antiprotons as a probe for nuclear structure remains unexploited despite past pioneer works at Brookhaven and CERN. The advent of new facilities, namely the ELENA low energy antiproton ring at CERN and the european Facility of Antiproton and Ion Research (FAIR) in Germany open a wide range of perspectives. Nuclear structure studies with antiprotons require microscopic potentials and approaches to describe the interaction of low energy antiprotons with nuclei. The formation and decay processes of antiprotonic atoms is important to address the sensitivity of antiprotons to the nuclear density radial distribution. In this workshop, past work with low energy antiprotons for nuclear physics will be reviewed in a critical way. New perspectives opened by the recent developments in the theory of nuclear interactions and in the treatment of the nuclear many-body problem, as well as the new facilities ELENA at CERN and FAIR will be discussed.

Registration period: 
11 Mar 2019 to 27 May 2019


Alexandre Obertelli TU Darmstadt
Jaume Carbonell IPN/Orsay - CEA/IRFU
Eberhard Widmann Stefan Meyer Institute
Ulf-G. Meißner University of Bonn - Forschungszentrum Jülich


Last nameFirst nameInstitutionCountry of Institution
CarbonellJaumeInstitut de Physique Nucléaire OrsayFrance
FinelliPaoloUniversity of BolognaItaly
FischerJonasInstitut für Kernphysik TU DarmstadtDeutschland
FriedmanEliahuRacah Inst. Physics, Hebrew UniversityIsrael
FriedrichErikTechnische Universität DarmstadtGermany
GligorovaAngelaAustrian Academy of Sciences, Stefan Meyer Institute for Subatomic PhysicsAustria
GottaDetlevForschungszentrum JuelichGermany
GranumPeterAarhus UniversityDenmark
HaidenbauerJohannForschungszentrum Juelich GmbHGermany
HrtankovaJaroslavaNuclear Physics Institute of the Czech Academy of SciencesCzech Republic
IndelicatoPaulLaboratoire Kastler BrosselFrance
IshikawaTakatsuguResearch Center for Electron Photon ScienceJapan
KolbingerBernadetteStefan Meyer InstitueAustria
KubotaYukiInstitut für Kernphysik, Technische Universität DarmstadtGermany
NakatsukaNoritsuguTechnical University DarmstadtGermany
ObertelliAlexandreTU DarmstadtGermany
SchmidtAlexanderInstitut für Kernphysik TU DarmstadtDeutschland
SultanovRenatOdessa College, Depart. of MathematicsUSA
WycechSlawomirNational Centre for Nuclear ResearchPoland
YdreforsEmanuelInstitut de Physique Nucleaire OrsayFrance
ZacariasSabrinaIKP-TU DarmstadtGermany